With the legalization of marijuana in some states in the US, every new entrant interested in growing and cultivating marijuana for medical or recreational purposes must make a research to discover the new laws governing the cultivation of Marijuana in each state or their place of residents. This is because states laws vary, while some states allow the cultivation of marijuana for medical and recreational purposes others do not.
Here is a guide on the cultivation status of marijuana in states where its use has been legalized.
The law allowing the growing of recreational marijuana was passed in 2014, it permits anyone who is above 21 years to possess, purchase, display or transport one ounce of marijuana or less. In addition, only three of these plants are allowed to be flowering at one time. However, residents where more than two adults who are above 21 years old are permitted to grow a total of 12 plants, six flowering collectively.
Arizona allows some designated caregivers that are registered with ADHS to obtain and possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in 14 days from any registered non-profit medical marijuana dispensary. Only medical marijuana patients who reside 25 miles away from a state-licensed dispensary are qualified to grow up to 12 cannabis plant in a locked facility.
In California only persons who are over 21 years old are qualified to cultivate up to 6 plants within the privacy of their home, they are also allowed to possess a combination of twenty-eight and a half grams of usable marijuana and eight grams of cannabis concentrate. Also, medical marijuana patients and their caregiver are allowed to cultivate 12 immature marijuana plant and six mature cannabis plant. However, they need the recommendation of a physician to grow a greater amount.
In Colorado adults who are 21 years old and above are allowed to grow six plants in their home, and only three of these plants can be flowered at a time, non-residents may not cultivate cannabis. In Addition, only 12 plants can be grown in each residence notwithstanding the number of adults who are above 21 years old that lives there.
Connecticut: In Connecticut, home cultivation of marijuana is not allowed; the total amount of marijuana that can be owned by a patient for analgesic use must not exceed the number of usable marijuana that will enable uninterrupted supply for one (1) month.
In Delaware only six ounces or less of marijuana used for medical purposes are allowed to be used for medical purposes. Growing of marijuana at home is also not permitted.
District of Columbia
The District of Columbia allows persons who are 21 years and below to use marijuana on private property, and possess at least 2 ounces of marijuana with no payment made. It is also legal for people who are 21 years old to grow a total of six medical marijuana plants with three matured once in their places of residence.
In Florida, there is no stated limit on the number of marijuana that can be possessed by residents and non-residents. Home cultivation of marijuana is also not permitted
Hawaii permits marijuana caregivers who are registered to grow seven marijuana plants and 4 oz. A patient who is qualified to grow marijuana can also designate to a caregiver to grow seven plants on their behalf.
Illinois does not permit the cultivation of marijuana at home. Also, there must be an adequate supply of 2.5 grains of usable marijuana for 14 days.
In Maine a qualifying adult who is 21 years and above are allowed to possess 2 1/2 ounces of cannabis concentrate, 2 ½ ounces of prepared marijuana, and 2 1/2 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles. In addition, 12 premature plants, six mature plants, and various cannabis seedlings are allowed to be cultivated in each residence.
Medical marijuana patients are allowed to use medical marijuana for 30 days. However, growing marijuana at home is not allowed.
Massachusetts allows adults who are above 21 years old to possess up to 1 gram of marijuana in public, 10 in private and five grams of cannabis concentrate.
In Michigan a medical marijuana patient who is registered cannot be arrested, prosecuted or penalized in any way if they do not possess more than 2.5 gram of marijuana or twelve (12) plants that are kept in a closed facility.
All registered card holders are also allowed to possess at least 1 ounce of usable marijuana, four mature plants, and 12 seedlings, while the infused product provider is allowed to have 1 ounce, four mature plants and 12 seedlings.
In New Hampshire a qualified patient is not allowed to take 2 ounces of marijuana in a given time or buy 2 ounces for ten days.
Qualified patients are allowed to possess 8 ounces of usable cannabis while the caregiver with an ID card can transport 8 ounce for each patient.
New York does not permit home-growing of marijuana. Also, qualified patients are not allowed to possess marijuana that exceeds thirty days of supply.
Home cultivation of marijuana is not allowed in Ohio. However, patients are allowed to buy edibles, tinctures, topical, flowers and oil.
Adults who are 21 years old and above are allowed to possess up to 8 ounces of usable cannabis while a medical marijuana patient can possess up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana.
This state permits 30 days’ supply of topical, oil, tinctures, pills and infused liquids to medical marijuana patients.
A medical marijuana patient with a registry identification card cannot be arrested, prosecuted or penalized in any way if they do not possess more than 12 mature plant and 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana.
A qualified patient is allowed to own up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana, 2 mature plants and 7 immature plants.
Washington demands that a health care professional provides recommendations on the amount of marijuana needed by a qualifying patient for his or her medical need. The qualifying patient is allowed to grow 6 plants for personal use and 8 ounces of usable marijuana.
Last update 22.2.2019: please contact us for updates in your State